New? Start here
- Drive cheat sheet Need a quick reference for the Drive basics you've learned? Download this cheat sheet.
Top 10 ways to build better virtual teams If you work on a team that’s spread across the globe, use Google Apps to keep people connected and to collaborate seamlessly.
Top 10 ways to onboard new team members Organizations need to train and onboard new team members effectively. Use Google Apps to create a simple way for employees to orient themselves on your projects and become productive fast.
Top 10 ways to have more productive conversations Are you overloaded with email conversations? Is your inbox out of control? Email is great, but sometimes it becomes overwhelming. Here are some tips that will help you communicate more effectively and get out of conversation chaos.
Top 10 ways to brainstorm with Google Apps Whether you need a name for a new product or a different place for lunch, Google Apps makes it easy to share ideas, get feedback fast, and collaborate with your team.
Set up your organization's fileshare Use Google Drive to manage, organize, and share your organization’s files in a single, centralized repository. After you set up your Drive fileshare, users will be able to find, store, and share documents efficiently in an organized folder structure.
- Top 10 ways to use Google Apps to go paperless Reduce printing expenses and share more easily by moving your organization's tasks and processes online.
Top 4 Drive tips
How much storage do I have?
If your organization has Google Apps for Work, you have 30 GB of storage across Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. If your organization has Google Apps Unlimited, you have unlimited storage (domains with fewer than 5 users get 1 TB per user). If you’re unsure which edition your organization is using, ask your administrator.
What types of files can I upload to
You can upload any type of file to Drive—photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos, and anything else you want to store.
How do I access my stored files on
After you store a file in Drive once, you can access it from any web browser on any device, or through the Drive app on any device.
For example, if you upload the file "video.mp4" to Drive on the web, you don’t have to manually upload it on your phone and tablet, too—you’ll automatically see it there. For more information on accessing your files on other devices, see Get started with Drive.
What happens if I remove a file from
If you own the file you remove, it's automatically removed from Drive on all of your devices and on the web. Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive and still count towards your total storage, until you permanently delete them on the web. For more information on removed Drive files, see Get started with Drive.
How long do deleted files stay in Drive?
Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive; they remain in Trash and still count towards your total storage until you permanently delete them on the web. For more information on removed Drive files, see Get started with Drive.
How do I stop sharing files or folders?
You can stop sharing files and folders by changing the sharing settings. For more information, see Get started with Drive.